IEHS Online

First Book Award

The Immigration and Ethnic History Society announces a new prize to recognize the work of early career scholars in the field of U.S. immigration and ethnic history. The 2018 “First Book Award” award will be presented to the book judged best on any aspect of the immigration and ethnic history of the United States and/or North America. To be eligible for the award, a book must be copyrighted 2017, must be based on substantial primary research, must present a major new scholarly interpretation, and must be an author’s first academic monograph. The $2000 award will be presented at the annual IEHS banquet in April 2018.

A book may be nominated by its author, the publisher, a member of the prize committee, or a member of the Society. Inquiries and nominations should be submitted to the chair of the First Book Prize Committee, Hasia Diner, at Deadline for submissions is December 31, 2017, and one copy of the book should be sent to each of the three committee members:

Hasia Diner
Professor of Hebrew and Judaic Studies and History
New York University   
53 Washington Square South, Room 104
New York, New York 10012

Geraldo Cadava
Associate Professor of History
Northwestern University
Harris Hall, 1st Floor
1881 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL  60208

Monique Laney
Assistant professor of History
Auburn University
323 Thach Hall
Auburn University, Alabama 36849-5207


Previous Recipients of the Award

  • 2015: Ellen Wu, The Color of Success: Asian Americans and the Origins of the Model Minority (Princeton University Press, 2014).
  • 2016: Adam D. Mendelsohn, The Rag Race: How Jews Sewed Their Way to Success in America and the British Empire (New York University Press, 2015).
  • 2017:  Lori Flores, Grounds for Dreaming: Mexican Americans, Mexican Immigrants, and the California Farmworker Movement (Yale University Press, 2016).