Apr 14, 2020

IEHS is pleased to announce the 2020 award winners

Apr 14, 2020 | Announcements

Theodore Saloutos Memorial Book Prize:

Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof, Racial Migrations: New York City and the Revolutionary Politics of the Spanish Caribbean

Honorable Mention: Benjamin Francis-Fallon, Rise of the Latino Vote: A History

IEHS First Book Award:

Danielle Battisti, Whom We Shall Welcome: Italian Americans and Immigration Reform 

IEHS Outstanding Dissertation Award:

Matthew Guarigilia, University of Connecticut, “The American Problem: Race, Empire, and Policing in New York City, 1840–1930.”

George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Research Awards:

Kyle Pruitt, University of Maryland, “Possessing a Nation: Labor, Race, and the Invention of a Gatekeeping Economy, 1882-1924.”

Karma Palzom, University of Wisconsin-Madison, “Political Transformations in the Tibetan Freedom Movement: Resettlement and Political Activism in the United States.”

IEHS Lifetime Achievement Awards:

Kathleen Conzen

Ronald Bayor



Back to all news