Home / Awards / Not From Here Graduate Student Awards

Not From Here Graduate Student Awards

Not From Here Graduate Student Awards

The graduate student authors of the best three digital publications will receive a yearlong student membership to the IEHS, and the best publication out of the three will receive an award of $100 and recognition at the IEHS Awards ceremony in addition to a yearlong membership to the society.

Awards will be given at the end of each academic school year around the mont of June. For the year of 2021, the self-nomination deadline for graduate students’ articles to be considered for awards is June 15th. The selection criteria will be based on the writers’ creative use of the digital platform, their adeptness in Op-Ed (non-academic) style language, their engagement with current politics/activism, and their depth and innovation in historical research.

The selection committee will be the two digital humanities interns, R. Bryan Zehngut-Willits, Chienyn Chi, as well as the acting president of IEHS.


You are eligible if you have submitted and published at least one article for Not From Here during an academic school year. You would need to be a graduate student when the article was first submitted. You would also need to self nominate one article to the editor of Not From Here by a yearly designated deadline.

How to be Considered for the Award?

The publication of your article automatically enters you into the contest of the awards. If you have more than one publication in an academic school year, you must select and nominate one of your articles to be considered for the competition by the end of the year publication deadline. If you fail to email the editor of Not From Here, Chienyn Chi at digital_editor@iehs.org, your selected article before the publication deadline, you will not be considered for the award.

Submission Guidelines

Learn more about Not From Here Submission Guidelines here.

Previous Recipients of Not From Here Graduate Student Award

(formerly The Graduate Student Blog Prize)

Emiliano Aguilar – 2019

Asher Lubotsky – 2018

Gerson Rosales – 2017

Kelly Lyons – 2016

Alina Mendez – 2015

John Higham Research Fellowship

Prior to 2016, the IEHS was a co-sponsor of the John Higham Research Fellowship. This fellowship is open to all graduate students writing doctoral dissertations for a Ph.D. in American history. Applicants pursuing research in those fields most congenial to the research and writing interests of John Higham will receive special consideration. These topics include U.S. social and intellectual history broadly considered, with preference given to research projects on American immigration and ethnic history as well as American historiography, and the cultural history of the nineteenth-century U.S.

For the most up to date information, visit:For the most up to date information, visit Organization of American Historians.

Previous Recipients of John Higham Research Fellowship

For information on winners after 2015, visit Organization of American Historians.


Adrienne Winans, Ohio State University
Daniel Morales, Columbia University
Preston McBride, University of California, Los Angeles


Brandon Gauthier, Fordham University
Kristina Karin Shull, University of California, Irvine
Israel Pastrana, University of California, San Diego


Kritika Agarwal, SUNY Buffalo;
Grainne McEvoy, Boston College
Adam Goodman , University of Pennsylvania


Aaron Bryant, University of Maryland
Cynthia Greenlee-Donnell, Duke University


Mimi Cowan, Boston College
Joseph Solomon Moore II, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
William Sturkey, Ohio State University


Aaron Cavin, University of Michigan
Shira Miriam Kohn, New York University
Julian Lim, Cornell University


Hidetaka Hirota, Boston College
Donald W. Maxwell, Indiana University
Elaine Nelson, University of New Mexico


Gustavo Licon, University of Southern California
Stacy L. Bondurant, George Washington University
Mayumi Hoshino, Indiana University


Maddalena Marinari, University of Kansas
Erick Schlereth, Brandeis University
Stephen Mak, Northwestern University


Victoria Cain, Columbia University
Christopher McKnight Nicols, University of Virginia
Nicholas G. Rosenthal, University of California, Los Angeles