Two travel grants of up to $1,000 each are awarded to IEHS members each year to be used toward costs of attending the OAH/IEHS Annual Meeting. The successful candidates will be members of IEHS, be participating in OAH/IEHS programs as presenters or commentators and/or IEHS committee meetings, and have insufficient institutional support for conference travel. Preference will be given to graduate students, adjunct faculty, and junior tenure-track faculty.

Application deadline: December 1, 2023.

Submission address: (this email will reach all committee members)


Membership in IEHS; proof of participation in the OAH/IEHS program; demonstrated lack of institutional support for conference travel.

Required Information

  • Statement of no more than 200 words about how the applicants envision attending the annual meeting will help advance their career in history.
  • C.V. (please be sure to include the following information: current and permanent addresses, educational background, degrees achieved and expected, current institution, current status, and mention of IEHS membership).
  • Documentation of participation in the OAH program.

Please indicate “IEHS Travel Grant Application” in the subject line and submit materials in one Microsoft Word or PDF document.

Recipients will be notified by the chair of the committee by February 1, 2024 and will receive reimbursement after the OAH with provision of receipts to the IEHS Treasurer.

Committee Members

Maddalena Marinari (Chair), Nicole Greer Golda, Kevin Kenny

Previous Recipients


Janna Hader (PhD Candidate, Department of History, UC Santa Barbara)

Caitlin Kennedy (PhD Candidate, Department of History, University of Maryland)

Elena Rosario (PhD candidate, Department of History, University of Michigan)


Kimberly Phuong Beaudreau (Ph.D. Candidate, University of Illinois at Chicago)

Brian Mueller (Lecturer, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

Bryan Zehngut-Willits (Ph.D. Candidate, New York University)


Hannah Greene (Ph.D. candidate, Skirball Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies, New York University)

Daniel Morales (Assistant Professor, Department of History, James Madison University)