IEHS 2019 Award winners

Apr 20, 2019

Theodore Saloutos Memorial Book Prize:

Ana Raquel Minian, Undocumented Lives: The Untold Story of Mexican Migration

Honorable Mention: Simeon Man, Soldiering Through Empire: Race and the Making of the Decolonizing Pacific

IEHS First Book Award:

Rosina Lozano, An American Language: The History of Spanish in the United States

Honorable Mention: Daniel Inouye,Distant Islands: The Japanese American Community in New York City, 1876-1930s 

IEHS Dissertation Award:
Brendan A. Shanahan, “Making Modern American Citizenship: Citizens, Aliens, and Rights, 1865-1965”

Honorable Mention: Evan Taparata,”No Asylum for Mankind: The Creation of Refugee Law and Policy in the United States, 1776-1951″

George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Research Awards:

Miles Culpepper (University of California, Berkeley), “Guatemalan Exiles in Cold War North America, 1954-1996”

Ivón Padilla-Rodríguez (Columbia University), “Migrants in the Making: Invisible Agricultural Child Labor and the Limits of Citizenship in the Twentieth Century.”



Back to all posts

Write for Not From Here

Become IEHS Digital Publication contributor. Submit your article!