IEHS Awards 2016

May 26, 2016

Congratulations to the winners of the IEHS Prizes awarded in 2016!  The following list is of the the winners, with the award they received denoted.

Theodore Saloutos Book Award

Madeline Y. Hsu, The Good Immigrants:  How the Yellow Peril became the Model Minority

Honorable Mention: Julie Weise, Corazon de Dixie: Mexicanos in the US South Since 1910

First Book Award

2015: Adam D. Mendelsohn’s The Rag Race: How Jews Sewed Their Way to Success in America and the British Empire (New York University Press, 2015).

George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Award

2016: Jessica Ordaz (University of California, Davis) “Making Invisible Carceral Spaces Visible: Migration, State Violence, and Activism at the El Centro Immigration Detention Center, 1947-2014”

Stephanie Fairchild (University of California, San Diego)  “‘Every Generation Has to Win it Again’: Understanding SEIU’s Justice for Janitors Campaign in the Continuum of Radical Struggle for Justice and Dignity”

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Megan Asaka, “The Unsettled City: Migration, Race, and the Making of Seattle’s Urban Landscape”  (Yale University, 2014)


Back to all posts

Write for Not From Here

Become IEHS Digital Publication contributor. Submit your article!