Apr 21, 2021

IEHS is Pleased to Announce the 2021 Award Winners

Theodore Saloutos Book Award

Winner: Uzma Quraishi, Redefining the Immigrant South: Indian and Pakistani Immigration to Houston during the Cold War (Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2020).

Honorable mention: Adam Goodman, The Deportation Machine: America’s Long History of Expelling Immigrants (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2020).

First Book Award

Winner: Ashley Johnson Bavery, Bootlegged Aliens: Immigration Politics on America’s Northern Border (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2021).

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Winner: Dr. Breanna Nofil (Columbia University): “Detention Power: Jails, Camps, and the Origins of Immigrant Incarceration, 1900-2002.” 

Honorable Mention: Dr. Kathleen Reed (Manchester University): “Graffiti at Ellis Island: Personal Testimony, Mark-Making and Experiences of Immigration Detention, 1900-1924.” 

George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Award 

Lauren Catterson (University of Toronto): “Disreputable Conduct: Misfeasance, Malfeasance, and the US Immigration Service, 1903 to 1940.”

Jonathan Cortez (Brown University): “The Age of Encampment: Race, Surveillance, and the Power of Spatial Scripts, 1933-1950.” 

Carlton C. Qualey Memorial Article Award 

Winner: Laura Madokoro, “’From Citizens to Refugees’: Japanese Canadians and the Search for Wartime Sanctuary.”

Honorable mention: Sam Vong, “‘Assets of War’: Strategic Displacements, Population Movements, and the Uses of Refugees during the Vietnam War, 1965-1973.”


Back to all news