The Immigration and Ethnic History Society awards a prize to recognize the work of early career scholars in the field of U.S. immigration and ethnic history. The 2022 First Book Award will be presented to the book judged best on any aspect of the immigration and ethnic history of the United States and/or North America.


To be eligible for the award, a book must be copyrighted 2021, must be based on substantial primary research, must present a major new scholarly interpretation, and must be an author’s first academic monograph. The $2,000 award will be presented at the annual IEHS banquet in 2022.

A book may be nominated by its author, the publisher, a member of the prize committee, or a member of the Society. Inquiries and nominations should be submitted to by the deadline: December 31, 2021.

2021 Committee Members

Danielle Battisti (Chair), Ashley Johnson-Bavery, Carl Lindskoog

Copies of the book must be received by all three members of the committee at the following addresses by the end of the calendar year:

Danielle Battisti
University of Nebraska – Omaha
6001 Dodge Street
287T Arts and Sciences Hall
Omaha NE 68182

Ashley Johnson-Bavery
Department of History & Philosophy
701 Pray Harrold Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Carl Lindskoog
Department of Humanities Social Science Social Work and Education
Somerset Hall, S-336
Raritan Valley community college
118 Lamington Rd.
Branchburg NJ 08876

Previous Recipients

Ashley Johnson Bavery - 2021

Bootlegged Aliens: Immigration Politics on America’s Northern Border  

(Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2021)

Danielle Battisti - 2020

Rosina Lozano - 2019

An American Language: The History of Spanish in the United States (University of California Press, 2018)

Honorable Mention

Daniel Inouye, Distant Islands: The Japanese American Community in New York City, 1876-1930s. (University Press of Colorado, 2018)

Hidetaka Hirota - 2018